HDI certifications are globally recognized credentials for technical support professionals who have demonstrated the skills and knowledge that professionals in specific roles are expected to possess. To remain relevant in the global marketplace, it is imperative that support professionals continue their professional development.

To demonstrate their commitment to lifelong learning, and to maintain their HDI certifications, HDI Continuing Certification requires HDI-certified professionals to earn Professional Development Units (PDUs). A PDU is generally equal to one hour of learning, and can be reported in fifteen-minute increments (ΒΌ PDU).

Effective January 1, 2013, the following HDI certifications are valid for three years from the date the individual earned the certification:

  • HDI Support Center Director (HDI-SCD)
  • HDI Support Center Manager (HDI-SCM)
  • HDI Desktop Support Manager (HDI-DSM)
  • HDI Support Center Team Lead (HDI-SCTL)

To maintain the certification, the HDI-certified professional must earn sixty (60) PDUs, and apply for HDI Continuing Certification prior to the expiration date. Individuals that earned these certifications prior to January 1, 2013, are exempt from these requirements. Please visit the FAQs to learn more.

The following HDI certifications are not subject to the HDI Continuing Certification requirements:

  • HDI Customer Service Representative (HDI-CSR)
  • HDI Support Center Analyst (HDI-SCA)
  • HDI Desktop Support Technician (HDI-DST)
  • HDI Technical Support Professional (HDI-TSP)
  • HDI Problem Management Professional (HDI-PM)
  • KCS Principles
  • KCS Foundation
  • Coaching Skills for Quality Support

My Professional Development | FAQs | Search My Activities | How to Earn PDUs