HDI Desktop Support Technician of the Year Award

2016 Desktop Support Technician of the Year Award Winner

Nicole Sladick, The Hartford

Representing the HDI Connecticut local chapter and the Northeast region

Nicole SladickNicole is a Desktop Support Technician for The Hartford. She began her career at The Hartford just shy of 18 years ago as a Subrogation Specialist and later moved into several different roles within the Claims organization. By early 2001, Nicole began feeling as if she wanted more; as if the job duty she was tasked with at the time was not what excited her. Not wanting to leave the Hartford, Nicole engaged her manager, and they worked to move her to a role that better suited her career interests. The resulting change in job duties proved to be an excellent fit and the technician role has inspired her to do her best every single day.

Although she is equipped with certifications from Microsoft and holds an ITIL professional designation, Nicole has learned most of what she knows from her own personal research, peers and on the job training. She has worn many hats while in her role as a Desktop Support Technician; in addition to performing regular day to day Tech duties, she has also served as Tech Lead and Mentor for her team, as a Project Manager, and, at present, Nicole acts as the Business Liaison between one of the companies top priority organizations and the IT department. In 2016, Nicole was selected to participate in The Hartford’s Launching Leaders program, an accelerated leader development program that works to develop individual contributors into Managers.

You will often hear Nicole say, “I love my life!” While this sentiment is a credit to her husband, her two teenage daughters, and to a huge network of family and friends, it is also a credit to the meaningful career she has forged with The Hartford. Nicole is relentless in her constant pursuit of ways to work smarter, establish stronger customer relationships, and provide top service-a quality that is exemplified by her years of service.

As a Desktop Support Technician of the Year Award nominee, Nicole was selected from five finalists, representing five of the HDI local chapter regions.

View video of the 2016 finalists and award winners.

Desktop Support Technician of the Year Award Application

Desktop Support Technician of the Year

Sponsored By:

The Desktop Support Technician of the Year Award was introduced in 2011. Each year, HDI works jointly with the local chapters to identify and recognize the industry’s top desktop support technician. Desktop technicians nominated at the local chapter level have an opportunity to compete with their peers locally, regionally, and globally for this prestigious award.

Each nominator presents to the local chapter a personal business profile of the nominee, including specific attributes that demonstrate the nominee’s understanding of industry standards, commitment to excellent service, and record of consistently exceeding performance objectives.

The winners from each of HDI's five local chapter regions are invited to the HDI Annual Conference & Expo, where the winner of the Desktop Support Technician of the Year Award will be announced. Robert Half Technology, the premier sponsor, provides each regional winner with one conference registration package.

The deadline to submit a nomination for the Desktop Support Technician of the Year Award is October 31.

Nominate someone for this award

Guidelines and criteria for the Desktop Technician of the Year Award

Past Award Winners

2015 - Jon Hess, PepsiCo

2014 - Ron Remon, Tampa Electric Company

2013 - Scott Robinson, NASCO

2012 - Susan Lawrence, Baker Hughes

For more information on this award or the nomination process, contact Kerri Kramer at 719.955.8127.